2nd Research Workshop

The Future of Financial Mutuals 

7th September 2022 

Bayes Business School  City, University of London 

Mutual financial institutions, including cooperative banks, building societies, credit unions and saving banks, hold a significant market share in many countries. Nonetheless, recent years have seen the sector undergo a process of consolidation to form larger institutions, better placed to survive in an increasingly competitive environment. 

Technological advances, the rise of FinTech, the emergence of digital-only banks and changes in customers’ preferences have posed new challenges for the sector. In addition, regulatory changes and low-for-long interest rates have impacted the sector’s profitability and risk profile. 

In this highly dynamic environment, mutual financial institutions are also contending with the unprecedented negative economic shocks arising from the COVID-19 pandemic, and their role in smoothing lending and providing liquidity to households and small firms remains unclear. Against these challenges, mutual financial institutions have often maintained their market shares, remain strongly capitalised, and are keen to explore how their ownership structure can continue to differentiate them from other firms in the financial services sector. 

The Centre for Banking Research (CBR) at Bayes Business School and the Building Societies Association (BSA) are jointly organising the 2nd Research Workshop on the future of mutuals. The workshop will provide an opportunity for academics, policymakers, and practitioners to engage in high-level discussion on the prospects of the industry. We welcome submissions of high-quality papers on the broad theme of the future of mutuals. 

Organising Committee: Rym Ayadi (EMEA & Bayes Business School); Barbara Casu (Bayes Business School); Andrew Gall (BSA); Angela Gallo (Bayes Business School); Francesc Rodriguez-Tous (Bayes Business School); Joseph Thompson (BSA). 

Scientific Committee: Elena Beccalli (Catholic University of Milan); Giovanni Ferri (LUMSA); David Llewellyn (Loughborough University); Donal McKillop (Queen’s University Belfast); Jonathan Michie (University of Oxford); Christine Oughton (SOAS); Thomas Poulsen (Copenhagen Business School); Jordan van Rijn (University of Wisconsin Madison); John O.S. Wilson (University of St Andrews). 

Registration Deadline accepted authors: August 15, 2022

Conference dates:  September 7, 2022

UK Society for Co-operative Studies is registered in England and Wales as a charitable incorporated organisation Number 1175295. Our registered office is Holyoake House, Hanover Street, Manchester, M60 0AS.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse